Rams 5 NJ Suprmene 1 2012 MS3 SportSurface CAN AM CHAMPIONS
Rams 5 NJ Suprmene 1 2012 MS3 SportSurface CAN AM CHAMPIONS


The Leominster Rams won their 7th straight Can Am Tournament, sponsored by MS3 SportSurfaces, beating the New Jersey Supreme 5 to 1 in the final game.


On their way to the final game the Rams defeated 2012 US National finalists Hudson Celtic 5 to 1, and then crushed the 2011 US National Champions, Breakaway Stars from Boston 6 to 1.

The stage was now set with the Supreme, who were the last team to beat the Rams 4 to 0 in the 2011 US Nationals.

The Rams have since went on an 18 straight win streak and 3 straight tournament championships since that defeat,


Rams Doug Croteau opened the scoring with just 53 seconds left in the first period, assisted by Cody Warila. With only 3 second left in the period Rams Captain Ted Reynolds faked out NJ net minder Bryce Erb to put his team in the lead 2 to 0, Croteau assisted.


During the second period defenseman Joe Russo added to the lead driving home a face off win by Bobby Housser and Warila. Less than a minute later Dan Richard scored to put his team up 4 to 0 with a goal mouth tap in from Dante Suarez.

NJ finally got on board near the end of the second period with a nice 2 on 1 pass play, scored by Tom Ruiz and assisted by Bill Sullivan.


The Supreme had the next 8 shots and lots of pressure on Rams goalie Sandro Grutti, who was forced to make several spectacular saves. The Rams countered mid-way through the third period, Dante Suarez put the Rams out of reach and secured the championship win with a blast under the crossbar, past Erb.


Rams outshot the Supreme (player coached by Steve Zimmerman)  31 to 25

Rams Bobby Housser was unanimously voted MVP, he also tied the Can Am assist record with 13, Most Valuable DefensemanJoe Russo was voted MVD, and goalie Sandro Grutti MVG.

Cody Warila and Bobby Housser both were tied for the tournament scoring honors with Warila at 11 goals and 6 assists and Housser 4 goals and 13 helpers.


The Rams were coached by veteran’s John Stamas and Chris Housser


Above Picture 2012 CAN AM CHAMPIONS


Front Row

Kevin Lizotte, Dan Richard, Dante Suarez, Sandro Grutti, Nick Perla, Tim  Richard, Doug Croteau, Steve Kendall, Ted Reynolds


Back Row

Coach Chris Housser, Tom Perla, Craig Holman, Josh Merchant, Mike Colcord, Cody Warila, Bobby Housser, JR Russo, Brad Forest, Coach John Stamas

Posted on Tuesday, November 13, 2012 (Archive on Saturday, January 12, 2013)
Posted by ezimmerman  Contributed by ezimmerman